Industry News

E-mail Article to a FriendPrint ArticleBookmark and Share

HMA announces more award winners

By Nick Bullock
Published: July 29, 2013
Alice Morris
Alice Morris of H&R Trains is presented with the Bobbye Hall Award by Hobby Manufacturers Association Model Railroad Division Council President Rich Janyszek at the 2013 National Train Show July 21 in Atlanta.
Photo by HMA
In addition to naming Michael Stephens to the Hobby Manufacturers Association Hall of Fame, the HMA also honored four other industry leaders at the National Train Show in Atlanta. Honorees included Oscar Koveleski, Alice Morris, Frank Ritota and Douglas Blaine.

Koveleski, founder of the Auto World Company, is set to receive the 2013 Legends Award from the HMA Plastics & Die Cast Division Council Oct. 4 at the iHobby Expo. Koveleski and his partner, Robert Smith, created a mail-order catalog for hobby products in 1958.

Morris, founder of H&R Trains, was presented with the Bobbye Hall Award. To promote the hobby industry, Morris began holding H&R Train Shows in malls around Florida. There are now 62 such shows across the country and H&R has grown to become the second largest model train store in the U.S. with more than 60,000 active customers.

The Model Railroad Industry Division presented of Model Rectifier Corp.'s Frank Ritota with a service award. Bachmann Trains' Douglas Blaine also received a service award.