Industry News

E-mail Article to a FriendPrint ArticleBookmark and Share

Bud Reece given 2012 Bobbye Hall Award

Published: August 15, 2012
HMA President Fred Hill (right) presents Bud Reece with the 2012 Bobbye Hall Award.
Bud Reece, senior vice president of Bachmann Trains, is this year’s recipient of the Bobbye Hall Award. The honor is given annually for distinguished service in the model railroad industry.

Fred Hill, president of the Hobby Manufacturers Association and chairman of the Model Railroad Industry Division Council, presented the award Aug. 5 at the National Model Railroad Association National Train Show in Grand Rapids, Mich., on behalf of the HMA Awards Committee during the MRID membership meeting.

“Reece … represents the spirit and commitment to the industry that Ms. Hall displayed,” Hill said in presenting the award. “Bud is an industry leader who has contributed his time, talents and dedication to grow the model railroad segment of the hobby industry. He is well-deserving to receive this award.”

The Bobbye Hall Distinguished Service Award was inaugurated in 2008 and was named in honor of Ms. Hall, who was president of Hallmark Models in Dallas, Texas. Bobbye Hall received the NMRA Pioneer Award in 1996 and was inducted into the MRIA Hall of Fame the same year. Previous Hall award winners include Fred Hill, Fred Hamilton, Dave Swanson, Aubrey Olson and Allen Pollock.