Industry News

E-mail Article to a FriendPrint ArticleBookmark and Share

Lionel, Nascar enter into die-cast car partnership

By Hal Miller
Published: July 12, 2010
Lionel Electric Trains and the NASCAR Teams Licensing Trust (NTLT) have formed a joint venture to make and sell NASCAR replica die-cast race cars.

According to a release from the NTLT, the joint venture is not a traditional licensee agreement. Both NTLT and Lionel will actively manage and develop the business, in partnership. “NASCAR Die-cast cars have been a unique and important part of our sport for many years and a true collectable that our fans treasure,” said Paul Brooks, senior vice president, NASCAR and a member of the NASCAR Teams Licensing Trust Board of Directors. “Creating this partnership with a renowned brand like Lionel is a powerful move for our fans and the long term sustainability of this business.”

Lionel plans to offer collectors die-cast models representing all the NTLT teams and more than 30 NASCAR national series drivers. The joint venture will take over the category from Motorsports Authentics, a Concord, N.C.-based company that will focus on trackside retail and be the exclusive die-cast car retailer at NASCAR tracks.

“We’re very excited about this new joint venture. We have more than 110 years of experience making the highest quality die-cast products that have been cherished by generations of collectors and their families,” said Jerry Calabrese, Lionel CEO.

The NASCAR Teams Licensing Trust manages the intellectual property rights for the participating teams and NASCAR in key categories including apparel, die-cast collectables, toys and trackside retail. It is comprised of NASCAR and participating teams in NASCAR’s national race series and is operated under a Board of Directors representing those organizations.

Initial participating teams include Dale Earnhardt Inc.; Earnhardt Ganassi Racing with Felix Sabates; Hendrick Motorsports; Joe Gibbs Racing; JR Motorsports; Michael Waltrip Racing; Penske Racing; Richard Childress Racing; Richard Petty Motorsports; Roush Fenway Racing; and Stewart-Haas Racing.